4G LTE modem problem and fix

I had been using my Librem5 for about 2+ months with no real issues with 4G cellular service. At times it would drop the connection but usually it would connect quickly by itself. Rarely I would have to reboot.

But yesterday after getting some texts and fetching some data, it suddenly wouldn’t make any connection to either calls or data. It did show a cellular signal but the network showed there was no connection. I tried changing the APNs, restarting the modem both with the switch and software. I went to my cellular service login and made sure everything looked OK there. I tried shutting down and taking out the SIM and rebooting.

No matter what I did it was dead. So now it’s either a service provider issue or a Librem hardware/software issue.

The last thing I knew I could do to hopefully make it work was to try resetting the modem. I went through the steps of changing back to the 3G defaults. After I saw I made that change and got the error when trying to to connect to cellular I went ahead and redid the steps to enable the 4GLTE settings on the modem. Luckily that worked.

I realize that I’m fortunate to have the capability of an opensource smart phone but that really sucked. From one moment to the next the 4GLTE either reset or corrupted for no apparent reason. Meaning I was cut-off for about half a day and it was about 2 hours of dicking around trying to figure out if and when I’d have my cell service back. Data was no big deal I could always go wifi or even plug in an RJ45 thru a hub.

Bottom line - unfortunately your cell connection could instantly vanish and going thru the steps of manully resetting the 4GLTE modem may be the only fix.

2 Likes