A general explanation or guide on installing software

If possible, I’d like to have a sort of “once and for all” statement about the best practices with installing third-party software. I’ll start by making all kinds of claims based on my current (flimsy) understanding. Hopefully that will inspire internet hate to tell me how stupid I am, until I have corrected my wrong ideas. :slight_smile: If no such “once and for all” guide to installation is possible, well that will be instructive in its own way.

A little background in case it’s helpful to see where I’m coming from:

I have been using Linux for a few years now, initially Ubuntu, then Mint, now PureOS. That sequence probably already tells you I don’t know a whole lot still. I’ve installed various software in various ways, usually by googling “how do you install R on linux” and following whatever results at the top of the search page. This has gotten me into some pretty knotted problems because the instructions were out of date or just plain bad. Sometimes instructions tell you to use a package manager, sometimes they instruct you to install from binaries, sometimes from source code. Sometimes the package manager only gives you out of date versions of the software that you want. Recently I experienced the issue that Java’s JDK is a little TOO new and by trying to run the most recent version of it, it caused Eclipse to stop working. Sometimes one installation method does something “weird” and when you get errors and ask people what’s happening on StackExchange you get a “Sorry, can’t understand what your computer is doing, your installation is weird” even when it was the officially recommended installation method. (I had and frequently have this problem with installations of LaTeX and related IDEs.)