A web server (Apache, nginx) on the Librem 5?

Hello!

I backed the Librem 5 (and can’t wait :smiley:), and therefore am searching for alternatives to the softwares I currently use on my Android phone.

An app that I use is Clue: it’s a period tracker (it does a bazillion other things but I use it only as a period tracker & reminder). I did not find any usable alternatives on GNU/Linux (especially usable on a small screen). So I thought I might develop one. But I’m a web developer: my languages are HTML/CSS, JS & PHP; I’ll need a web server - Apache, nginx, another one? - to run on the Librem 5. And I wonder: is this phone powerful enough for that? (and is it wise?)

Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

Since we can run nginx (and several web services) on this kind of ARM server without any problem, I think it should work on the L5.

On my Linux smartphone BQ E4.5 with UBports I use as web server python3 -m http.server 8000 to present prefetched OSM tiles.

2 Likes

hi there! :slight_smile:

id like 2 suggest u 2 check this out, even if its using lua for backend, its a really simple and powerful language, even more after knowing js.
btw caution: once u learn it ull fall in love (mayb even before that :smiley: )

have fun! :slight_smile:

@Torrone Thanks for the confirmation :slight_smile:

@guru Interesting, but is this server PHP-ready? I don’t know Python…

@hippi Interesting also, but I’m not sure I have time (and motivation) to learn a new language just for a small application that I need. But who knows? As you say I could fall in love :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

I have no knowledge about writing some CGI-BIN in PHP. If you send me a 10-liner off-thread, I could test it.

@Lamecarlate, assuming someone puts the necessary packages in the (ARM64) repo, there’s nothing that should hold you back to do that. I assume you’re also familiar with MySQL/MariaDB, from the classical LAMPP stack, or did you intend to write the app state to a file via JS?