Anyone in Southern US able to help me set up PureOS 10 in L5 USA?

Hello all! I am a super noob - the closest thing to coding I’ve ever done is enter a referral code on my old iphone lol. I purchased 2 L5 USAs for my wife and I. I use mine as a daily driver with AweSIM even though it won’t make calls. My wife is pretty annoyed and continues to use her iphone. If there is anyone who can help me in person or through zoom update the phones to byzantium, maybe I can win her over and get more functionality out of the phone. I can pay for your time!

Thanks so much for any help! I truly believe in this cause :slight_smile:

Grant

1 Like

I can’t help you out because I am far away in Europe and do not have the L5 US…

But I wanted to reply that you deserve all my respect buying (based on what you describe about your knowledge) two L5 to convince even your wife. You are a real Linux enthusiast. Good luck!

3 Likes

Hi, @abundance,
I’m also not nearby, but just wanted to point you to my post about my re-flash experience, which turned out to be relatively easy:

But how easy it might be for you depends on how familiar you are with Linux, and whether you’re using the latest Ubuntu version or some other OS.

If you’re not experienced with Ubuntu, Linux Mint, Debian, etc., but have a friend nearby who is, then I’m sure they could easily help you do the re-flash.

1 Like

Thanks amarok! I will read your post and see what I can learn. I do know one guy in driving range who knows Linnux but has never seen an L5. I’ll update if I have a positive update!

1 Like

All he needs to do is copy and paste the commands as laid out in the links I provided (some of which won’t be needed if he’s using the latest Ubuntu version). Should be super simple.

One thing, though: if you want disk encryption, you have to choose the correct image to flash. (i.e. version of the image with LUKS encryption; I think it’s explained in that thread/my post.)