Apps help newbie to Linux and Pure OS

Hello,

Total newbie to Linux here, and I bought the Librem 5 because I really want to support and learn OS tech. Sooooo… I need to get my feet wet with downloads. I did the easy ones from the Pure OS store, but I want Telegram and Signal, and whatever app I need to open video sent via text.
Any help is really appreciated. TY!

Do I copy the code into the terminal? I have no idea what the following actually means…need help translating what action steps need to be taken.

Signal instructions:
Linux (Debian-based) Install Instructions

# NOTE: These instructions only work for 64-bit Debian-based
# Linux distributions such as Ubuntu, Mint etc.

# 1. Install our official public software signing key:
wget -O- https://updates.signal.org/desktop/apt/keys.asc | gpg --dearmor > signal-desktop-keyring.gpg
cat signal-desktop-keyring.gpg | sudo tee /usr/share/keyrings/signal-desktop-keyring.gpg > /dev/null

# 2. Add our repository to your list of repositories:
echo 'deb [arch=amd64 signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/signal-desktop-keyring.gpg] https://updates.signal.org/desktop/apt xenial main' |\
  sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/signal-xenial.list

# 3. Update your package database and install Signal:
sudo apt update && sudo apt install signal-desktop
1 Like

Ok no problem. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

No, the instructions are meant for AMD64, not ARM64, which PureOS on the Librem 5 is based on:

It seems the repository itself is unable to be publicly accessed using my Librem 5 USA, so I cannot determine if other architectures are supported.

3 Likes

Thanks for your reply.

So, I see it says arch=amd64; and you’re saying that the Pureos uses Arm64; what does the amd/arm mean?
What is the repository?
thanks for your patience.

1 Like