Are data removal services worth it?

Have any of you heard of companies (I think that’s a proper term) such as Incogni, Optery, PrivacyBee or the like? Have you used them? Are they really worth it for removing your data from various sites and such?

I am new to a lot of this privacy stuff and I want to make sure I do what I can where appropriate. I am taking steps here and there and am unsure which are entirely necessary when there are so many (sometimes conflicting) suggestions on what to or not to do.

2 Likes

This seems like a fun question. I would be interested to hear the experience of someone who actually used that kind of thing, whether they felt it was useful.

Using PureOS hardware for the past year has been making me feel like I suddenly have the eyes to see that a ton of technology in our society is broken by design, and the only seemingly good explanation is that people and institutions that we basically need to trust for society to function are failing to be trustworthy in favor of profits.
As a result, if I choose to be maximally paranoid, it would follow for me logically that I can’t pay anyone else to delete my data because they aren’t beholden to honor my trust in them. For example, I used YouTube for about 15 years. If I pay them to delete my data, Google would stop telling me that they had that data, but I would assume that they would keep the data on record in “anonymized” form – in some way that they decide they are allowed to do – despite my request. Then, some data mining system on their side would later pair that data back to me if I touched one of their products or services, and resume operating off of over a decade of records on me.