Back up Disk Image

Hi there, My first post here and hopefully I manage it well.
I just recently purchased my Librem 13 v 4 and am very happy with the buy! This is my first time being exposed to the Linux enviroment after being a Windows :face_vomiting: user for over 20yrs.

I am wanting to create a full disk image as a back up from outside the enviroment prior to boot. is it similar to using Macrium Reflect in a pre-boot enviroment?

so far I have downloaded the pureOS iso and flashed it to a thumb drive as I would imagine this is needed to access in order to use Gnome disk to create the back up.

My question is what would I need to do to proceed?

i appreciate any advice. just trying to navigate and learn this OS and am treating it with kids gloves.

Best regards,
frank

3 Likes

One tool that is commonly used with disk images is a tool called ‘dd’. dd is very powerful and will do exactly what you ask it to do - even if you ask it to write over your disk. For this reason one may want to take care when using it, stories abound of people wiping their disks unintentionally. Another potential downside is that it is a command line tool primarily, but that should not put you off. The Linux command line is a fast, powerful, and in the end, pretty easy way to accomplish a lot of tasks. My first recommendation is to open the terminal and to write; man dd There you will find a manual page on how to use the tool.

There are other tools like Clonezilla that can help with backing up images if you prefer.

4 Likes

sounds like those are baby gloves. welcome !

might want to read this forum thread and some of the links provided.

1 Like

I’m a old-school fan of having data on a different partition and just backing up the data. If ever I had a hardware crash I’d pick a distro and reinstall anyway, then reload the data onto a new partition.

I use dd too but it may not be the recommended approach for newbies.