Cannot Find Newly Installed Software in Software Manager

I’m new to Linux, so doing something as simple as installing a new piece of software is a real experience. Anyways, I installed a new web browser, and I noticed it’s not showing up in the list of installed software in the Software Manager. Let’s say I wanted to update or uninstall this web browser, how would I go about doing this if it isn’t showing up in the Software Manager?

NOTE: I installed this web browser by right-clicking the .deb package, and selecting “Open With Other Application”. From there, I selected “Software Install”. Is this the correct way to install software in Linux? Should I have done this a different way? Any advice would be helpful.

1 Like

Not really - but it might work some of the time.

Yes.

Either use the GUI application to install software (which in the case of PureOS would be the PureOS Store application) or use the shell command line (sudo apt install xxx) where xxx is the correct name of the package (which may require some researching on the internet).

What web browser was this?

How do I use the PureOS Store application to install software? The web browser is SlimJet:

https://www.slimjet.com/

Using the PureOS Store application, you won’t be able to install any software that is not in a repository - and that is what you appear to be attempting to do.

My advice: For where you are at the moment in your Linux journey, it may be best to avoid installing random software.