Can't upgrade apache2-bin

I try to keep my Librem 13 up to date by running sudo apt update every few days, and recently I noticed that I am unable to upgrade the package apache2-bin.

When I try I receive this message:

The following packages have been kept back:
apache2-bin

It can be upgraded to a new version, but something is preventing it. Have tried sudo apt full-upgrade and sudo apt dist-upgrade, but no luck. Any ideas?

You may know this already, but try:

apt-cache rdepends apache2-bin

Or, you can use something like packagekit.

That will give you the list of packages dependent on apache2-bin. Most of the ones listed on my system are libapache2 files, so you maybe you can sort those out on yours to get at the blocker.

Unfortunately, I am not experienced enough to not know a handy way to find exactly which package is holding you back in one command. No doubt there is an incantation of a command that can do that.

@Wayne Yeah, most of the files listed for me are also libapache2 files. Still unclear to me why Iā€™m unable to upgrade apache2-bin from version 2.4.29-2 to the latest version (2.4.33-3+b1).

What happens if you ā€œpretendā€ (-s) to install the package using:

apt-get install -s apache2-sbin

I do not have my system in front of me to try it. Maybe that will yield a message as to which package is blocking.

Otherwise, I can only suggest running what others (maybe you?) have suggested under similar circumstances:

sudo apt update --fix-missing
   sudo dpkg --configure -a

Hmmmā€¦so, when trying to install it I got the following feedback:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
apache2-bin : Depends: libcurl4 (>= 7.16.2) but it is not going to be installed

Then, when I tried to install libcurl4 I got the following response:

The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
clamav-base clamav-freshclam libclamav7 libcommon-sense-perl libgtk2-perl libjson-perl libjson-xs-perl libmspack0