Cellular switch for beginners

I currently have an iPhone, live in the US. Can I order the Librem 5 and when it arrives, go to the at&t store and have them swap the sim over to the Librem from my iPhone while staying on the same cellular plan?

I’m a rookie and just need a basic tutorial on how to make the switch. I am ready to buy but want to make sure it will work.

Thanks!
David

2 Likes

Welcome!

You might be able to do the SIM swap without involving your carrier, and your service will transfer without issue (though if you have carrier specific AppleCare/insurance you might lose that as it’s often tied to keeping your SIM active in that specific device).

1 Like

Thank you!

So it’s that easy. I just wanted to be sure before purchase. I do not use apps and am comfortable in a linux environment. All I want are the hardware kill switches!

1 Like

And go with the A1 modem? For At&t service in the US?

That looks correct to me - you’ve have all LTE bands minus Band 30 (and any 5G offerings of course).

And yes it should be that easy, if you encounter issues then I’d head to the store - swapping the SIM in yourself and seeing if the APNs/service provider show in the settings first should be a quick enough way to check.

There are a few threads here about compatibility but they’re a bit older - check here for some concise details https://source.puri.sm/Librem5/community-wiki/-/wikis/Cellular-Providers

thank you very much