Changing default login screen

First of all, hello to everybody. I have been using PureOS now for a few months and I am quite happy with the experience.

I have been trying to change the background, icon, etc. of the login screen, like I always tend to do, but I haven’t seem to find the correct way to do it. I followed guides/posts for Debian / GNOME, but nothing seemed to work for me.

PureOS, Kernel 4.19.0-9, GNOME 3.30.2

Any ideas? Thanks!

1 Like

I didn’t remember exactly what I had tried, so I went again with a new try:

• Edited /usr/share/gnome-shell/theme/gnome-classic.css, the lines about:

#lockDialogGroup {
    background: #2c001e url(resource:///org/gnome/shell/theme/noise-texture.png);
    background-repeat: repeat; 
    }

with a manually selected file: url(file:///home/username/Pictures/image.png) with the needed with no-repeat and background-size and position values. But it doesn’t work.

• I also edited the /usr/share/gdm/greeter.dconf-defaults uncommenting the lines:

#  - Use another background
    [org/gnome/desktop/background]
    picture-uri='file:///home/username/Pictures/image.png'
    picture-options='zoom'

It also doesn’t work (but I think this should affect the desktop background, not the login; strangely, though, it doesn’t seem to change my desktop background either.

EDIT:

• In the /usr/share/gdm/dconf thre is a symbolic link to /etc/gdm3/greeter.dconf-defaults, wich shows the same commented-out lines as the greeter.dconf in /usr/share. So I tried uncomenting those as well:

[org/gnome/desktop/background]
    picture-uri='file:///home/username/Pictures/image.png'
    picture-options='zoom'

But, again, that should be regular desktop wallpaper.

There is no article on the PureOS wiki about it, but this is clearly not showing the default GNOME behaviour (or I am really missing something). Could anyone shed some light here?