Covid Tracking Code In OS

Hi all. I am new to Purism and this Forum, joined today and have a phone and 14" on order.

I believe Google and Apple will soon have Covid tracking code in their operating systems (Android and iOS). My question is will PureOS have already or in the future similar feature written into OS?

I simply want to know if it will be part of the OS or not. Please note that I am not offering my opinion or feelings about it.

Thank you.

2 Likes

I highly doubt it (and I personally don’t want to see it). I am purposefully running old iOS so that even the API isn’t on my phone.

Would be nice to hear an official stance, though.

For a start, you would need working Bluetooth for Contact Tracing to work at all. AIUI, that means that on the laptops out-of-the-box, the answer is no Contact Tracing even if the code made it in.

On either device, you are also free to use the Hardware Kill Switch to disable Bluetooth while you are out and about. That may not suit all use cases so your mileage may vary.

Beyond that, if you want an official statement from Purism about whether they plan to incorporate any one of the open source contact tracing frameworks into PureOS, you should email support@puri.sm

It is certainly a legitimate concern. Given the privacy focus of PureOS, a contact tracing framework definitely should not be installed out-of-the-box. If you choose to install it then of course that is your freedom. So that’s really two questions: 1. Is it in the repo at all? 2. If so, is it installed out-of-the-box?

I am not clear on whether the actual Google/Apple contact tracing framework (i.e. the actual implementation and code that will go into Android and iOS) is available as open source. There is no point running any contact tracing framework under Linux unless it is interoperable with the implementations for Android and iOS.