[Cross-]Compiling for the Librem5?

Has someone successfully cross-compiled something for the Librem5? Often when I try to compile something on the phone itself it either takes all day at best, or crashes due to insufficient memory. Let’s suppose this is a CMake/C++ application. The relevant documentation is intimidating to say the least, especially as I have zero knowledge about CMake. It mentions preparing a toolchain file. Is this a once-only task which I can then use for all my cross-compilation tasks? (If so, could someone more experienced share it?) If I need binaries like libraries or something during compilation, might it be easier to apt-get them on the phone and transfer them to the computer (compared to trying to obtain them directly on the computer)?

Option 2: as I guess compilation fails due to insufficient memory, could I make a large swap file and compile overnight on my phone? Would that work?

Option 3: @dcz mentioned using qemu instead of bothering with cross-compilation. Could/should I run the Librem 5 image for that? And then I can just set it up to have a ton of my computer’s memory?

Option 4: My Raspberry Pi 4 has a bit more memory than my Librem 5. Would it work if I compile on the Pi and copy the resulting files to my phone? Both are aarch64. But I don’t know if library versions are close enough.

1 Like

One of the things that I compiled on my Librem 5 was the Magic Set Editor 2, from here:

It looks about like this when not docked:

I also compiled the NetSurf browser to run on my Librem 5, although sometimes I have been forgetting to use it and was instead using Epiphany or Firefox because of the addicting power of senselessly running nonfree javascript to communicate with the nonfree world.