Disk firmware protection

I’m not a expert, I saw Librem laptops and simply found them very
interesting machines. I’m thinking to buy one of them, but have a doubt.
I’m curious to know if Librem laptops have some particular protection
against those malware witch rewrite the EEPROM of the HDD or SDD to
change the disk drive firmware adding malicious code.
Is there some physical switch (or something like that) to ensure the disk
firmware can’t be modified without user permission?
I know the disk drive probably isn’t manufactured by Purism, but maybe Librem laptops have some feature to control the disk drive firmware…
Thank you in advance
Best regards,
Damiano
(Ferrara, Italy)

1 Like

I doubt it. I have never seen such a drive.

One thing to bear in mind is that in most cases the disk drive would be free to ignore or subvert the intent of such a physical switch. Hypothetically speaking, if you don’t trust the drive, you can’t trust that the firmware can’t be updated.

Such a switch may only serve a purpose in the event that malicious (root / kernel) code is running on the computer, in which case you do have a fairly major problem and protecting the drive firmware is only a small part of that.

I would suggest that the lack of trust in the drive is mitigated by using encrypted content, content that is encrypted on the host before sending to the drive. So the drive, hypothetically speaking, can only leak the encrypted content and any intentional modification of content by the drive would a) likely be detected and b) likely just corrupt the content and/or make it unreadable.