Does VPN really hide your location? How?

Ok, I’ll preface that I am a newbie, and when I receive my L14 it will be my first linux machine of any kind, and trying to learn about privacy/security in all things, and so this is probably very newbie stuff, but I have a question.

When using a VPN, in my case NordVPN, how exactly, in laymen’s terms, does it hide your location while apparently utilizing the local towers for your cellular signal, or even while using a wifi? Seems like by using either, your location can be established? Or am I (likely) missing more obvious things about how a VPN works, and what it can and cannot do?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

If you are talking about Librem 14, the cellular towers have nothing to do with it (unless you also connect an LTE card).

VPN makes all your Internet trafic go via an additional hop, so that every website will see your requests as if your VPN provider does them, not you. In other words, every website will not see your IP address but the address of your VPN, which is used by many people. Your Wi-Fi network should not be visible to the websites (unless you are hacked).

VPN makes tracking of you harder, but it does not prevent it, see https://coveryourtracks.eff.org/.

3 Likes

No, currently using it on apple spyphone.Sorry, should have mentioned that.

Websites or apps should also not know your cell towers or location unless you explicitly tell it to them.

2 Likes

Ok, I just always see how the phone, or provider, etc can always know your location because of triangulation using the cellular towers, so I wondered how a VPN prevented that?

VPN does not prevent tracking your location by the cellular towers themselves (i.e. cellular provider) or by the Wi-Fi routers with which you connect. For the first problem you could consider Librem AweSIM and for the second one, you can randomize mac address of your Wi-Fi card.

2 Likes

And then the same issues exist with the L5 correct?