Downloaded App vs website

As a general rule of thumb is using a software application’s app more or less secure than using their actual website?
For example the protonmail website versus downloading a protonmail app? Same with any other software application that you may use? Do you always choose one or the other if possible? Assuming functionality is the same for both?

Obviously your web browser and other attributes play a role in the security/privacy of the website, but an OS also may have unknown access to a downloaded app, especially apple or windows or android. So I’m curious from both a privacy and security standpoint.

I’m sure I’ll get beat up for less than specific parameters, but for the average user, what would be advisable in most cases?

I am no expert, but I would guess that generally a website is safer, so long as you trust your browser to properly sandbox the site/webapp. Plus, you can add things like ad-blockers and JS blockers in your browser, and not in an app.

That said, the modern web is so full of bloat, trackers, cookies, and other ugly things that a FOSS app is likely to be free from.

If the app is not FOSS, then I would definitely pick the website, myself.

2 Likes

In general I consider the site to be more secure, though often less feature complete.

To the best of my knowledge most are equally secure with apps using https under the hood so as not to reinvent the wheel but that is not always the case and not the easiest thing to prove.

1 Like

Your question is not really relevant, at least for services over Internet, here is why :

In terms of security, a website could have as much holes as the software, but the website (probably holding your data) is open 24/7 and your app is not. But you choosing the app will not prevent the website being hacked, and there is a high probability that the app will create a connection to the website anyway.