Educate me on phone number security

Ok, new to Linux, as the L14 will be my first foray into this, and I’m looking hard at the L5 sometime this year, if funds allow it, so bear with me if this seems a dumb question.

To begin with, I try to use the Signal messaging app whenever I can. After reading the dozens of comparison, reviews, etc, at least all I can, online, I decided on that app. With Wickr as a backup for when either party doesn’t wish to exchange numbers for whatever reason. And I would be glad to hear of other options any of you deem to be better, and why, of course.

The one flaw, or drawback I always see people mention with Signal is, they need a phone number. But, and I’m a newbie here on security/privacy, it seems your online/phone/etc profile is built around circles of connections, whether it be friends, family, work, your banks, credit cards, etc. (how social media does it, i.e. fakebook, google, etc.)
In other words, they can figure out who you really are because of all these connections, whether by phone number, email addresses, home addresses, that overlap, etc. And, you have a phone number on record with your banks, credit cards, cable company, phone bill, doctors, clubs, local food delivery, and every contact you have, and probably dozens of other I can’t think of right now.

So am I wrong in thinking Signal having the number is unavoidable anyway? Seems even with the Purism AweSIM, you are going to use the phone basically, well, as a phone, and if your daily driver, that number will be connected to you and anyone wishing to figure out who actually owns the phone attached to that number, should be easily done, as you use the number in all the same places as before. As soon as you call several friends, I’m sure there is a algorithm that will say, hey, so the same connections pattern is being tracked as this iphone/android number was, or whatever, so it’s likely still “John Smith” that owns this phone.