Enhancement request: CapsLock light

So I’ve been using my Librem 15 v3 for about 2 months now. The only complaint I have about it is the lack of a CapsLock light.

I sometimes hit the CapsLock key instead of the Tab or Shift keys. This is easily seen when working in a terminal, but is totally invisible in other contexts. The worst is entering the password at boot time to decrypt the LUKS-encrypted hard disk. (This with PureOS.) My password is long and complex. When it is rejected the first or second time my inclination is to think that I mis-typed it. I finally realize that there is no way I got it wrong, hit the CapsLock and try again. Problem solved.

Please add a CapsLock light to the next hardware revision of the Librem 15. You might also add a NumLock light for the same reason. I should be able to look at the keyboard and ascertain how the state keys are working.

Thanks.

5 Likes

Hi qUT4kr8icw,
I avoid this problem by changing functionality of the CapsLock key to control key. I think “who uses all caps enough to have a dedicated key for it?” The location of the CapsLock key is, in my opinion, prime real estate on the keyboard; so I choose to make it a function I need far more often than CapsLock.

I press “Enter” key with my right little finger, and “Control” with my left little finger. Less twisting my hand around to get control key.

If you like this idea, how to do it? I hate to admit I haven’t installed PureOS yet on a laptop (and my order for Librem laptop is pending), but I recall Ubuntu had System -> Preferences -> Keyboard or, since it is Gnome, gnome-tweak-tool > Typing

Perhaps the link below will help? I will need to know, myself, since one of the first things I’ll do when my laptop arrives is change CapsLock to Control! :slight_smile:

https://manpages.debian.org/stretch/keyboard-configuration/keyboard.5.en.html

Regards,
Clark