Failed to connect to forums.puri.sm from time to time

Hi,
I found that my browsers (Firefox, Gnome Web) will fail to connect to forums.puri.sm with the corrupted content error. And this only happens on the forum site (not on puri.sm itself, not other discourse sites). Is the my problem of others have encountered the same issue.

Note: I’m using my university’s network and I’m an admin. If this is only happening to me, something fishy is going on.

1 Like

I’ve never had that error.

1 Like

Time will tell on that but I have read about 6 x as many posts as you and I have never seen that error.

First of all, I would try to work out what that error means and what component is producing it.

What is the client device? Do you experience it with a different client device on the same network connecting to the same forum?

Are you using a web proxy, transparent or non-transparent?

1 Like

No, I’m not using a proxy and this seems only happen to be in my university network. On multiple boxes, all running Gnome Web and Firefox. But I didn’t use the forum enough outside of the university to tell if it’s the problem of the network.

The thing is, I am the admin of the network I’m using (I am the ISP effectively). And I have set the network up to be as transparent as possible (and no proxy/transparent caches). So something must be wrong if only I’m having the problem. And from the responses, it looks like my problem?

1 Like

I see this error occasionally too. In PureBrowser and in Firefox

1 Like

Seems like it might just be a Firefox bug. However I couldn’t find any remotely coherent explanation of what the error really means. What Firefox version do you have?

At this page: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1232773 the first response by cor-el suggests using some of the Firefox tools to look for useful messages.

1 Like