[Feature] Add Lost Mode + Tracking to Librem.one

Feature: Add Find My iPhone like service to Librem.one
Isn’t this an inherent security flaw? In theory, you could always password lock this feature using OTP. This way Purism couldn’t lock or track your phone without your code.
When you re-find you phone you can generate a new code and disable the old one.

How? I’m not a developer, but I know that Prey is mostly open-source:
https:// github .com/prey
Their android client does have some non-free dependencies with some discussion to change this:
https:// github .com/prey/prey-android-client/issues/82#issuecomment-93989938

This makes this

very obvious.

Technically it’s impossible, either the phone has the tracking beacons sent to the tracking service every
x seconds, or the service is completely disabled. Another mode is asking the server if tracking should
be enabled every x seconds, and in case the answer is yes start the tracking. But then it defeats the
whole purpose of real-time tracking, and will still make the vendor know your location :slight_smile:

This idea is that most modern carriers already require you to know your location to use.
Or at least a rough calculation. This is how it figures out which cell tower to use.

My thought process was to set up a web server on the phone.
You could even use I2p or IPFS or whatever, it is just used to communicate in case you lost it.

Then when you send it a code to start sending data to Purism.
This way Purism isn’t constantly knowing having access location or being able to encrypt your phone.

Next, you receive an encrypted version using a second key.
This you can then offload and run to check where your device is.

In theory you could use the 1st code to encrypt your device, wipe data, put into lost mode, e.c.t.
But any valuable information like location would be E2EE using a 2nd key.

Does this make sense?
@s3ns0r

Mobile carriers know your location. But not Purism or your phone manufacturer.