For a new PureOS/linux user

Ok, so I’m sure this is one of those dumb questions people say don’t exist, but I will ask anyway, just to show they do. :wink:
I am new to linux, as in have never had a linux machine of any kind, and I am eagerly awaiting my first, the LIbrem 14, hopefully before Christmas.
So other then me clicking on everything and learning my way around, are there any tips in initial setup etc that I should be aware of that may save me headaches later? Even basics like naming the machine? And I will note that I wish to ensure as much privacy as possible, which is why I want the Librem, for all their open source, privacy minded hardware/software etc. and want to leave the Apple sandbox behind completely at some point in the future.
Mind you, I don’t mind making mistakes, and having to redo things, etc, as they are all learning opportunities, and I’m ok with that, but wondering if there are fundamentals in setting up a linux machine for the first time, that all of you do as easy as breathing, that a newbie may miss completely and never know it?
If there are good video tutorials, etc that I have missed on this site, my apologies, and feel free to point me to any helpful threads, videos, etc for beginners with PureOS.

Thanks a lot in advance!

1 Like

If you haven’t already, I would download virtualbox and install PureOS (if that’s the distro you’re going to use) and start becoming familiar with it: settings, applications you’ll use, maybe toy with the command line a bit. There are things you do on your Mac that are as easy as breathing that I might miss, find out how to do those things on Linux. Also compile a simple program or two. It isn’t something I do often, but occasionally its very handy.

1 Like

Some general information about PureOS: https://tracker.pureos.net/w/

1 Like

Well it’s what comes with the Librem 14, so it will be my start.