Help needed with 21:9 and Librem 15 v3. (HDMI 1.4, HDMI 2.0, ultrawide)

I’m trying to get my Librem 15 v.3 to display 21:9, will this HDMI to DP adapter make it work?

It only goes to 30Hz, but my understanding is this is the only option I have. If I’m honest, i don’t even understand how it makes any difference… the graphics must have limited resources to attribute to different outputs?.. :thinking: Maybe someone can explain how an adapter can even have an effect on internal graphics capability to me. (thanks!) :grinning:

– More details below for starting a discussion or for later reference to aid others –

My specs:

Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 520 [Skylake GT2]
Display: Asus PG348Q - 21:9 at 4k, DP at 100Hz, HDMI at 50Hz
OS: Ubuntu (I had bugs with PureOS, will retry eventually. Quebes wouldn’t boot for me, but I’m new to linux)

Important notes:

• HDMI 1.4 supports 4k but not 21:9
  • HDMI 2.0 supports 21:9
  • Crowdsupply page stated the 15" would have HDMI 2.0. However, this hasn’t been confirmed anywhere I’ve seen. Even after asking in forums.
  • Intel 520 didn’t support HDMI 2.0 but could with a DP converter. We now have HDMI to DP converters as linked above. Be sure to note this is not DP to HDMI since we don’t have DP ports on the librem.

Though its off topic since it concerns Ubuntu, I’ll document what I did before I realized the possible graphics limitations.

• Added 3440x1440 modeset to the xrandr profile in command line.
  • Revealed 21:9 as an option in the display system settings panel, but just blew everything up within the already displayed 16:9 resolution and the laptop was slow to respond. Mirroring off, laptop display off.
  • Invoking xrandr --output HDMI-1 --mode 3440x1440 from the command line it gave me the ‘configure crtc 0 failed,’ also failed when using crtc 1 and crtc 2 (the only other crtcs I saw listed in xrandr --verbose, though I didn’t exactly know what I’m looking at.)