How do I install virtualbox on PureOS?

I want to set up a VM for web development on my Librem 13v1. I figured I’d try virtualbox and Vagrant, since I have some experience with them on OS X. However, I’m having a hard time figuring out how to actually install virtualbox!

The first thing I tried was “sudo apt-get install virtualbox”, but that just returns “E: Package ‘virtualbox’ has no installation candidate”.

I tried looking at the Debian docs for virtualbox at https://wiki.debian.org/VirtualBox , but it seems that the “deb” command doesn’t exist. And I wouldn’t know which Debian version to go with anyway.

As an aside, I also found something called “Boxes” pre-installed on my Librem, but trying that ended with a “Box creation failed” error with no further information.

Could someone provide me with step-by-step instructions on how to set up virtualbox on PureOS, please?

1 Like

So the real GNU/Linux way to do virtualization is either through Xen or KVM/Libvirt and QEMU. Xen doesn’t have good guis for users, so I’ll help you through the process of setting up KVM/Libvirt and QEMU (it’s as easy to use as virtualbox, I swear).
First, you’ll need to install the necessary packages:

sudo apt install qemu-kvm libvirt-clients libvirt-daemon-system virt-manager

Then, you’ll need to give the necessary groups to the user:

sudo adduser libvirt
sudo adduser libvirt-qemu

Now you can run virt-manger. To create a VM, choose File > New Virtual Machine. The process is very similar to virtualbox.

Cool, thanks for that! I’ve installed a Debian VM, and I’ve got a LEMP stack up and running.

What would be the recommended way of sharing files between the host machine and the VM? I’ve got a bunch of sites sitting on the hard drive of the host machine, and I’d like to set it up so that the VM can read that directory.