How does the time synchronization work in PureOS?

I am a Linux beginner. :blush:

I have configured PureOS to synchronize its time data over the internet.

How does it work exactly? Which time servers are used?

You may wish to start with the file: /etc/ntp.conf. Things may have changed since those many moons ago, but it is where I commented out the time servers based on error messages I was seeing in the logs. I was not enamored with the idea of my system pinging them anyway.

1 Like

I have cut out all mentions of npt.org from all of my devices, even from my smartphones. I can manually set the time myself without giving any data to this website. :free: :smirk:

1 Like

Thanks.

I entered service ntp status in the terminal and I got the following result:

● ntp.service - Network Time Service
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/ntp.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: inactive (dead)
Docs: man:ntpd(8)

I am confused. If NTPD is not running how does PureOS synchronize the time?

I guess I have figured out how it works.

As PureOS uses systemd (like Debian) the configuration is done in the file /etc/systemd/timesyncd.conf. Initially its content is commented out completely.

You can check the status by entering systemctl status systemd-timesyncd.service in the terminal. My PureOS was syncing with 2.debian.pool.ntp.org although the file is commented out as I already wrote. You can read the explanation for example on https://manpages.debian.org/testing/systemd/timesyncd.conf.5.en.html:

If this option is not given, a compiled-in list of NTP servers is used instead.

So, if you want to control the time synchronization you need to edit the file and enter your preferred NTP servers.

1 Like

under PureOS 9 Amber (Librem-Mini) mine says :

● systemd-timesyncd.service - Network Time Synchronization
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/systemd-timesyncd.service; disabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Drop-In: /usr/lib/systemd/system/systemd-timesyncd.service.d