How high is the risk for using laptops with closed source BIOS?

TL;DR: basically the title

I’m using regular laptops that can be purchased everywhere. And, of course they don’t have open source BIOS, just wonder how high is the risk, when:

1. The attackers don’t have physical access to my laptop (backdoor, etc)
  2. The attackers have physical access to my laptop (I lose my laptop, etc)

Note: I’m no expert in tech, so maybe I didn’t explain my question clearly… :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

I’m sure some folks have some good information here. Just remember that a lot of the worry and fear surrounding this topic are the direct result of market campaigns which benefit on it.

Your actions and how you use your computer play a much larger roll in your privacy and security than essentially anything else.

1 Like

Malware in the BIOS/UEFI isn’t very common now-a-days, because most PC makers now use a signed BIOS/UEFI, so it is very hard to crack it and change it. For more info, see:

The bigger issue is the fact that you have a giant blob that you don’t control and can’t change, so you have hardware which you can’t trust. If the NSA or Chinese government infiltrated the plant where the BIOS/UEFI is being flashed (or simply had an agreement with manufacturer), spyware could be added to the BIOS/UEFI and you would probably never detect it. It is effectively the same as the Chinese government inserting spy chips in Supermicro servers.

Of course, it is pretty low probability that you will be targeted by a group which is capable of changing your BIOS/UEFI and groups like the NSA probably have easier ways to spy on their targets, but it is something to think about.

1 Like

My laptops are all running Linux Mint at the moment, does this help to mitigate the risks?

Can’t install PureOS, the hardware won’t support… even the choice of OS matters