How to operate a touchscreen?

I have been playing around with my Librem 5 Evergreen for several months now, slowly figuring out how to do some things on it, but a lot isn’t working the way I’d expect. Maybe that’s because, having long used keyboard and mouse to get things done, I’ve never figured out how to control things with a touchscreen. Pretty clearly things like cntl-c, double-click and right-click can’t work the same way, but it’s slow going. So I thought I could find a video, or even a text, somewhere, about “how to use a touchscreen” that would explain the basics regarding this phone (or android, which I surmise works similarly). Haven’t been able to find one. Any recommendations?

1 Like

This video from Purism might help you get started:

1 Like

The L5’s keyboard (called “Squeekboard”) has additional screens besides the one you see by default. If you will click on the small globe icon next to the space bar, you can choose “Terminal” layout, which reveals some additional keys, including Ctrl and Alt, and arrow up/down/left/right. Clicking Ctrl once will “stick” it until you un-stick by clicking it again.
If you click the “>_” key, you will see some of the other usual options, such as PgUp, PgDn, Home, End. Clicking on the “Menu” button from this screen will pop up a context menu, such as you would see on a desktop computer, with Undo, Redo, Cut, Copy, Paste, Delete, Select All, Insert Emoji, and Change Case. (This is how you can accomplish the equivalent of a right-click when you need it.)

Double-tap with a finger to execute double-click anywhere in the apps.

Click the 123 key to get numbers, ABC to get letters, etc.

You might also find some useful videos about using specific applications by perusing these L5 topics:

5 Likes

Ctrl-C and double click can work the same way. Right click can’t. Sometimes long press is used instead of right click.