How to remove PureOS and replace with other Linux OS

Is there a recommended/ safe way to clear my L14 and install another Linux OS? I am not experienced in this sort of thing and am unsure how the disk current disk encryption might affect things.

Currently, my Software section is blank and I just get the feeling that PureOS is just not working correctly.

Any help would be appreciated.

1 Like

what will it be? :thinking:

1 Like

You would backup your data first (any files you want to keep - I recommend an external drive which you can use for general backups later on as well).

Then you write an image of the Linux distribution of your choice on an USB stick, put it into your L14, reboot and select it either via BIOS or GRUB as device to boot.

The existing full disk encryption is not a huge deal. Just format your drive completely with the new OS and copy your saved data over afterwards. You can also setup a full disk encryption again with many other Linux distributions easily (might be an option to enable in the graphical installer).

The whole process should also work to switch from any Linux distribution back to PureOS again. I’d also recommend using Live-ISO images to checkout how the new OS would behave or look before installing it.

1 Like

That depends on your threat model, but for most users, you can overwrite your NVMe drive(s) during installation.

2 Likes

In turn that depends on what was meant by “safe”. Safe in terms of “likely to work without glitches or other difficulties”? Safe because you are worried that the disk contents will fall into the hands of someone else?