How to Update Firefox on Librem 14

Good morning,
I’m a newbie with a question.
How do I upgrade Firefox on my Librem 14.
My credit card company says my browser is out of date so I can’t access their website.
I installed Firefox on my Librem 14 over a year ago.
Please give simple step by step instructions …still a newbie!!
Thanks for any help available
Belerry

1 Like

Open up a terminal and run:

flatpak search firefox
If it appears then run:
flatpak install firefox

Otherwise, you can enable flathub and re-run above:

flatpak remote-add PureOS https://store.puri.sm/repo/stable/pureos.flatpakrepo --user

If you installed Firefox using the native package management instead of flatpak, where I believe the package is named firefox-esr, then it should automatically update if you simply launch Terminal app and then issue the commands

sudo apt update
sudo apt full-upgrade

But if your firefox is installed as a flatpak instead, then follow what purism121 said.

Thank you very much. I will try all these kind suggestions.
I much appreciate such rapid help to fix my problem
Belerry

Hello Dionk
Thank you for adding this help. I have printed both replies and will take it step by step!
I installed Firefox using a command in Terminal which was sent to me by Purism Support in an email. So I don’t think it was flatpak.
I very much appreciate your prompt reply with help to solve this problem.
Enjoy the rest of your Sunday
Bellery

To clarify the situation, I recommended flatpak so that the OP would get the latest version of Firefox. Purism uses the Extended Service Release version by default. I assumed from the OP’s initial description that the ESR version was too outdated.
So now we have the ESR update and the flatpak version.
I would also note that another option is to switch to chromium for this web site to see if it works better than firefox-esr before going to the trouble of using flatpak.
Good luck everyone.