Ideal Programming Language for Librem 5 development

Hello all. I have been considering learning a programming language in my spare time to enhance my IT skills. I am wondering if this community would have any recommendations on a suitable programming language for an absolute novice with no computer science background that would allow me to develop for GNOME and the Librem 5 platform. Any info would be greatly appreciated, and I want to thank you all for your time :slight_smile:

6 Likes

I’ve been pondering this same question for myself. As coming from a java background I am curious. Java works on the emulator just fine, but I’d like to be more serious about gtk and gnome development. I’ve been exploring Vala a lot lately and that looks like a decent place to start. But I’m also seeing that C and C++ seem to be the most popular in this ecosystem.

A good thing about Linux is diversity, and bad thing about Linux is diversity. There are two main camp for developing GUI in Linux. Either use GTK or QT for developing an app in Linux. GTK uses C and QT uses C++ as native language. There are language binding for both GUI toolkit, pyqt should be the most popular choices. On GTK side, I am not pretty sure. The easiest path should be go for pyqt. Though I am not sure how much C++ will you be exposed or could you use python entirely for development.

If GNU/Linux becomes mobile OS, I think it is important for Purism to support some easier dynamic language like kotlin and swift to attract developer to develop a quick app.

3 Likes

I also tried to understand more. considering that gtk is for gnome and Qt for kde I think python-GTK and python Qt is the best thing. So we study python as a language and then the QT and GTK libraries. I think :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

Instead of python I’d prefer to go the vala route.

1 Like