Is the Librem Laptop/OS User Friendly for Novices?

I have been seriously considering buying Librem for privacy reasons. The killswitches are the biggest selling point. But…

I have zero experience or knowledge of linux or programming. I’m just a Windows user who can troubleshoot Windows through your basic mechanisms but not much else.

Having read through the forums here, it appears you need to know quite a bit to troubleshoot things. For instance:

For me, that is pretty much a foreign language.

So while I’d like to get a Librem, am I mistaken in that this laptop (as well as PureOS or Qubes) isn’t for the regular Joe? Is the learning curve steep? Is this laptop/OS user friendly for people like me?

Thanks for any input.

1 Like

I’d say the answer is yes.
Like probably most people, I use windows for corporate work at the office and I’ve always used Mac at home. I had zero Linux experience.

I was pretty serious about this, so here’s what I did. I watched hours of YouTube videos, I lurked in user forums, picked up a few beginner books and magazines on Linux, listened to a bunch of Linux podcasts, and then I picked up a cheap Lenovo Flexbook, and I went to Distrowatch and checked out the most popular distros. I downloaded a few and played around. Yeah, “may” have bricked the laptop a few times screwing with the bios but I learned how to get out of those jams thanks to helpful folks. When I was ready, I bought a Librem, for all the reasons that Purism makes them.

What I learned was that the Linux community is amazing. Super helpful folks who are always challenging the status quo, always innovating and pushing the envelope, and always giving back.
If you want to feel like your computer and your data belongs to YOU, then yeah, it’s worth it.
Cheers

4 Likes

Hey @libreput