Issues: Fresh PureOS install with encryption (Non Purism hardware)

Hey all, just trying to install PureOS to my home desktop. I would very much like to use hard drive encryption for this fresh install. I seem to have issues post install, where I get the prompt to input my encryption password. I put in the password, and I’m then greeted with errors to the effect of not seeing the drive. It will loop every 60 seconds, error out, and do this until I power off. I have seen prior posts, including stuff tracked in the past. They allude to this being a known issue, but unless I’m reading things wrong, this has already been corrected? I am able to install the OS with no encryption with ease.

Just wondering if anyone has tips for a non Librem computer running PureOS. I am a layman at best, but wondering if this is a known issue with the current iso?

Thank you all for your time!

I should note I’m using the live CD Calamares based installation method as well.

There’s a post about this on the PureOS tracker, it’s a known issue. Currently I guess there isn’t a fix.

That confirms I read the tracker wrong :slight_smile: Thank you for the reply.

When I was testing PureOS before I had this same problem. You can, of course, install without encryption but that’s probably not what you want.

What I ended up doing was using the regular installer, not the live system installer. But, that had the issue where it failed “detecting my cdrom” drive. To get past that error dialog, I told it not to load modules and allow me to specify the cdrom device. I then entered /dev/sdb1 and off it went without a hitch. Depending on your system, it might be /dev/sda1 or /dev/sdc1 or somesuch, but enough guesses and you should find it. :slight_smile:

Hmmm, a project for tomorrow. Thanks @knoqi! I’ll resolve your comment if successful!

I have tried that on Thinkpad T400, however it fails in a kernel panic.