L5 durability and the case for a case

@JCS
Given that you have Purism’s ear, could you ask how they feel about contracting with some service or company to produce inexpensive, light/thin/flexible, heat-dissipating cases for the L5, which they can sell in the shop?

I’ve been hoping for such for 3 years now, and I imagine many others here have, also.

6 Likes

I think that’s a great idea - thanks! I relayed your suggestion to the product team for consideration.

4 Likes

Thanks! I actually avoid taking my L5 out of the house due to fear of dropping it. :rofl:

1 Like

FWIW, I’ve dropped my L5 a few times (once on the cobblestone path in Edinburgh which involved the L5 sliding glass-side down, the back panel popping off and the battery popping out), and the only signs of visible damage are a few nicks in the anodized metal frame! It’s tougher than I assumed it was!

10 Likes

I guess it depends on how it hits the ground. I also read a post of someone dropping phone from low height with instantly broken glass. But it’s good to know that not every drop results in higher damage.

5 Likes

For what it’s worth, mine was “dropped” once (inside the house, onto a hard surface). The only damage was a small graze on the metal frame.

As you say, there’s an element of luck and it will depend on the drop height.

1 Like

In any… er… case, I don’t want my baby to get scratched and scuffed. :wink:

5 Likes

I never really felt the need for a case on my Librem 5 USA, even though I dropped it a few times already. However, I would appreciate having more official accessories for it.

2 Likes

I am a phone dropping kind of person. I am using a Liberty Phone to get as good of RAM and storage as possible, and inevitably – some day down the line – I will drop it.

With my previous phones, I always ended up dropping them and breaking the screen. But the Librem 5 is thicker physically than my last phone was even when my last phone had a case on it.