Laptop unusable again

Since my laptop continued having issues, I have run it in a special mode for a few months. I would not use it for anything, I would just run the system update scripts once a week. My objective was to see if the system stays stable.

Predictably enough, it did not. After the most recent update I was prompted to to do from the UI, the OS would not boot into the UI but into the shell instead. Once again: I have been doing nothing on my laptop for several months but updating the OS until it broke AGAIN!!!

At this point I am exchanging emails with the support that does not seem to be able to identify the problem, much less to fix it. Again: This is a $3,000+ laptop that was already broken for two months (hardware) and now it is broken again (software).

TOTAL GARBAGE!!!

1 Like

I read your entire post history, so I am informed about your situation except your private correspondence to Purism support:

1. First off, decide whether you want to use Coreboot + SeaBIOS or PureBoot (Coreboot + Heads) for boot firmware: PureBoot is for advanced users and can be difficult for someone expecting a $3,000+ laptop to work out of the box justified solely on price alone; Coreboot + SeaBIOS is significantly more simpler, but you lose cryptographic tamper protection of boot firmware using your Librem Key.
  2. Second, decide on what operating system you want to use; I can provide detailed advice for installation and configuration of either PureOS or Qubes OS.

Be brief and explicit, and backup any important files before seriously replying back to me.

1 Like