Librem 13v2/Arch Linux: Trackpad is broken after update

Yesterday, I did an update with pacman -Syu and after I rebooted normally, the trackpad didn’t seem to be working. If I choose the “fallback” option at boot, the trackpad works fine. My understanding from this and my five minute reading of the mkinitcpio page is that my initiramfs is now missing a module (or modules) that enable trackpad support.

Do you know what module I’m missing, and how I should configure mkinitcpio to add it to my initramfs?

(Sorry if this is a newb question, but I’m pretty new to Arch and I guess this is what I get for using Antergos to set it up instead of doing it manually.)

1 Like

What kernel are you using, and what version is it?

1 Like

It’s the default kernel that comes with Arch, version 4.12.8-2:

[aarmea@aarmea-ohm ~]$ pacman -Ss ^linux$
core/linux 4.12.8-2 (base) [installed]
    The Linux kernel and modules
[aarmea@aarmea-ohm ~]$ uname -a
Linux aarmea-ohm 4.12.8-2-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Aug 18 14:08:02 UTC 2017 x86_64 GNU/Linux
1 Like

Do you know what was the previous version you had installed, before the update? You can check this in your /var/log/pacman.log.

1 Like

I suppose if you boot into your previous kernel it would work too…

I don’t know Arch, but if you need to search around for the specific driver/model of trackpad, you should look for something related to “elantech” touchpads (if I’m not mistaken, this would be the main driver source code in Linux).

1 Like

Yeah, I am trying to figure out what was the previous version.

@aarmea, you can simply roll-back to previous kernel version, if you haven’t cleaned you package cache. Check /var/cache/pacman/pkg folder, search for “linux-4.*” packages. If your previous version was “4.12.8-1” for example, then run this command in terminal:

pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/linux-4.12.8-1-x86_64-pkg.tar.xz

1 Like

Or just give us the output of ls -l /var/cache/pacman/pkg/linux* command.

1 Like