Librem 14 charging noise/keyboard lag when charging

Hey all,
For about two weeks now when I plug in my Librem 14, I hear a very distinct sound very similar to the sound old computers with HDDs used to make when the drive was seeking. It’s like a faint “brrrr” sound that’s not exactly constant but starts and stops. It doesn’t sound high-pitched like coil whine, it’s a bit lower than that.

Additionally, the laptop now will not charge above 83%-85%, and while plugged in, will regularly stop charging and immediately restart charging (as indicated by the unplugged/plugged noise and the charging icon disappearing and reappearing immediately).

Finally, this also translates into keyboard lag somehow? When the laptop is plugged in now, the keyboard will regularly miss keys making it quite infuriating to type. If I use the fn key + brightness up/down, that action will be delayed by 1-3 seconds as well.

I’m not sure what to make of this as I’m not a hardware expert. It seems something has gone off with either the charging hardware and/or battery and this is having ripple effects throughout the hardware (e.g. keyboard).

Has anyone ever experienced this before? Anyone at Purism encountered this?

1 Like

Is all your software and firmware fully up to date?

1 Like

No, can you provide the operating system(s) where you are experiencing these issues?

1 Like

I would contact Purism support. To me it sounds like an issue with the charger (but it could be a battery issue instead). Do you have a different charger that you can use?