Librem 5 - as laptop replacement?

Dear community ,

as many others I am really interested in buying a Librem 5. I’ve been a Linux administrator for the last 20 years and was looking for a phone like this for a long time especially after I read that Threema will be accessible from the phone.

As I saw there is a usb c connector at the phone that can be used to attach a (mobile) screen. It would be nice to know if I can use the phone as a replacement for my tablet /laptop.
I usually use my laptop to maintain my servers or do office work - nothing really special.

What do you think about the idea ?

7 Likes

Are you aware of the planned convergence feature (search “convergence site:puri.sm”) and the monitor bundle?
It’s a bit early to say how well it will work, but if mouse+keyboard+shell could already satisfy you, it’s not unlikely you’ll get what you want.

4 Likes

Well,
Mouse, keyboard and shell is about 70% of what I need :slight_smile: something like Libre Office and maybe a nextcloud client would be awesome and oc Threema (that’s actually a must have).

I saw the bundle, but I was hoping that I could connect any monitor capable of usb-c to the phone … am I wrong ?

1 Like

sure why not. that bundle is just an integrated usb hub inside the monitor but you could connect any monitor to the librem 5 if you find adapters or a dedicated docking-station/usb-c hub.

3 Likes

I would assume standard desktop software not to be a problem.
Monitor in theory also not, given compatibility.

Related topics:
What's the point of the monitor Librem 5 combo?
Librem 5, convergence and laptop extension
Convergence and the Librem 5- Do I NEED the kit?

Plus:

3 Likes

I am not planning on fully replacing my laptop with the Librem 5, but I can definitely see myself using it as an extra one. I’m very interested in owning a phone that can double as a desktop/laptop :slight_smile: