Librem 5 Daily Driver: Backplate Ripping Apart

I have been using Librem 5 as my daily driver phone. I had a Librem 5 from April to October, then upgraded to Liberty Phone for RAM from October 2023 until now.

Ever since a rather forceful ripoff of the back plate at a 2023-2024 new year’s party for a sort of party trick, there had been a growing tear in the backplate. It was originally much smaller, but has been growing worse due to my daily battery routine:

As a daily driver, I do not charge my device and instead battery swap once or twice during the day, using batteries that are always charging on multiple wall chargers that are usually 80-100% charge when I swap them in.

This practice is wondrous for battery life, because it means that for me battery life is no object. Even if I spend a day traveling, going on a flight using my phone as my QR code boarding pass, I have no concern because I just bring all four batteries with me and charged at the start of the trip.

So, I don’t really want to stop doing what I am doing, but today the tearing in the backplate appears to be even worse and is tearing near the convenient notch as well as a third of the way up the back. I had been reaching around to avoid worsening the first tear much but this second tear down by the corner might be too much.

Is there a place on the store to order a new Librem 5 backplate? I can probably replace my daily driver’s backplate with the one from my older Librem 5, but this is less than ideal particularly if I end up eventually tearing the other one in a similar fashion after extensive use.

Here is a picture:

1 Like

Not all replacement parts that are available are in the store - so you should ask Purism Support.

3 Likes

when, I ordered some other parts, I had their support add in a back plate. Shipping costs being what they are, it is good to get some of these items when you order larger itens to minimize shipping impacts.