Librem 5 Phone - Review

Inspired by a couple recent posts by @flanders51 and @2disbetter , I wanted to share my experience with the Librem 5. Below is a post I just added to Gemini, and also pasted here.

gemini://leetaur.com/gemlog/entries/2023-08-12.gmi

Librem 5 Phone - Review

Using the Librem 5

Note, I am typing this gemini post up on a Librem 5, an absolutely beautiful piece of hardware, running PureOS. I will talk more about the phone itself below, but want to provide a little history first.

Background

I am an iOS developer for a Fortune 500 company. I taught myself and started developing iPhone apps in 2009. I later joined the mobile team of the company in 2010. So I have been using and programming the iPhone from the beginning. Apple opened up development and the AppStore for the iPhone in 2008.

While I liked the iPhone for what it was, I remember telling my boss in 2010, ā€œWhat I really want is an iPhone that I could plug into a monitor, keyboard, and mouse, and it would give me a full OS X desktopā€ (later renamed macOS). He told me that the technology to use a phone as a full desktop exists, but that companies were not marketing it. I donā€™t remember if he said why, but I can imagine that it is because companies like Apple want to sell you both a Mac and a phone. There is no economic incentive to give you an ā€œall in oneā€ device.

Investing in an Idea

I didnā€™t give up on that ā€œconvergentā€ phone idea. With Windows 8, Microsoft created an interface that was supposed to work as either a phone interface or a desktop one. I had Apple hardware then, and wasnā€™t very interested to go back to any Windows technology, but I wanted Microsoft to succeed in creating a convergent operating system so that Apple would follow suit