Librem Qubes Users, Some Qs For You

A) Has Qubes been stable for you?
If so, what version are you running?

B) Are you using Ethernet, thru a USB?
If so, how did you setup the Ethernet adapter to work with sys-net?

C) Are you getting random Lightbox failed to start errors when trying to start VMs?
If so, did you find a solution?

D) Were you able to get OSX to work inside a VM?
If so, can you point me to a guide that shows me how to do it?

Let me know the answers to any or all those Qs.

P.S. I would really, really love Qubes to work, and be stable enough for a primary OS. It might be I’m just a newbie to the Linux scene… but so far, I just haven’t been able to make it work without random, unsolvable errors. If you have been able to please let me know, that at least it is possible on Librem hardware with current 4.0.3 Qubes version (or an older one if necessary).

A) Yes, since 4.0. Running it fully updated to the current version with no problems on a Librem13v2.

B) Have been using Ethernet on a combined usb/net qube which I had set up during install. Adapters on USB-A as well as USB-C ports worked quite well. Sometimes the device disconnects for no apparent reason and immediately reconnects. Sometimes it vanishes and I found I can solve the issue by turning the USB-C adapter by 180 degrees. Don’t ask me why that is, I was never bothered enough to find out.

C) No.

D) Never tried.

1 Like

A. Yes, running 4.0.3 (but have been running it on Librem hardware since the 3.x series)

B. Yes, I have to use the widget in the top panel on the right-side that allows you to attach USB devices to VMs, to attach my USB Ethernet adapter to sys-net whenever I plug it in