Linux Containers Comparison - Quest for the best

There are several containers or containerization systems for Linux let’s discuss the differences, pros and cons for comparison.

I am no expert but this is my current state of knowledge (without having used any of those containers at all :innocent:).

List of known containers:

1. Docker
    Future seems questionable.

2. Flatpak
    There are critics like that on https://flatkill.org

AFAIK its limited to desktop apps. Could find confirmation quickly.

3. Podman
    Doesn’t need a daemon.

4. AppImage
    does not offer form of self-check with package authenticity verification or runtime confinement by sandboxing

5. LXC
    Starting with the LXC 1.0 release, it is possible to run containers as regular users on the host using “unprivileged containers”.[7] Unprivileged containers are more limited in that they cannot access hardware directly. However, even privileged containers should provide adequate isolation in the LXC 1.0 security model, if properly configured.

In contrast to OpenVZ, LXC works in the vanilla Linux kernel

6. LXD
    alternative wrapper around LXC developed by Canonical
    LXD is a system container manager, basically an alternative to LXC’s tools, not a “rewrite of LXC”. In fact it is building on top of LXC to provide a new, better user experience.

7. Snap
    Snap is a software packaging and deployment system developed by Canonical for the operating systems that use the Linux kernel. The packages, called snaps, and the tool for using them, snapd, work across a range of Linux distributions and allow upstream software developers to distribute their applications directly to users. Snaps are self-contained applications running in a sandbox with mediated access to the host system.

Snaps are self-contained packages that work across a range of Linux distributions.