No computing skills

hi all,
really want to support this freedom project.
At what point do you think an android using fool like me could cope with the librem 5?
I don’t care about camera or screen. Just battery and the ability to sync with a WP that can automatically save so I don’t lose notes etc.
My understanding is the battery will be (hot) swappable?
Don’t care about games but do need to browse for research.
I am a writer, and would love to show how a different way can be found in the digital world, where rights are shared not stolen.
I have never left the android/chromebook environment, and have no tech skills but I’m willing to give it a punt!
thank you!

10 Likes

Hey there friend its nice to see another passionate individual in the digital rights movement! Being someone who over the years transitioned from Windows to Mac to Linux, Linux does have a learning curve but seeing what you are aiming to do, it should be a cake walk. If you ever need any help just reach out to us in this forum.

4 Likes

Hot swappable would mean you could take it out while the phone is running and put a new one in. While you might be able to do this if the phone is plugged in, I think the recommended procedure will still be to have the phone turned off. The battery can be replaced though.

What is a WP?

Otherwise it sounds like the Evergreen (final release) batch would fit your needs very well.

2 Likes

hi,
Sorry. Word Processing. I am an author, and use a chromebook because it means everything I write is automatically saved to drive, therefore never loose anything. Notes is synced to drive from my android phone.
All good, except…
I trade off my private digital life for these services. I don’t blame google, but just think there must be another way.
We don’t expect free food, free love, free friendship. We enter into relationships where we give as much as we get, un-hidden and equal.