Offline contact, calendar, data sync

With the Librem 5 coming, we will soon have the need to be able to sync data between Librem laptops and phones without use of an online sync service.

Are there any efforts at creating such a solution? If not, I would ask that you do so. I have yet to find a fully encrypted online sync service that is not also proprietary, and therefore won’t be using one.

Specifically:
– Move contacts between the two: sync all, move only certain groups, or overwrite everything – being able to set the phone or the laptop as the master.
– same for calendar, notes, tasks, music, videos, podcasts, etc.

3 Likes

I believe Nextcloud, with whom Purism has partnered, offers much of this functionality, but not all. I don’t think there is a way to set a device as a master device. Nextcloud is open source, and you can host it yourself.

1 Like

I know of Nextcloud, but I’m not interested in self-hosting, as I am not an expert in these matters. I’ve been told and read numerous times that you put yourself at more risk by doing things like self-hosting without the expertise to ensure it is actually secure.

That aside, I know there is not currently a way to do what I’m asking for, which is why I’m asking for it. Purism is a company that put out their own laptop hardware, will be releasing their own phone, and has their own distro to go with it all, with their own repo to go with the distro. It is fair to ask if they plan on developing an application to facilitate data transfer along these lines, as it is completely in keeping with the spirit of their stated mission. If they are not currently planning such a feature, it also is fair to ask that they do put effort into it, as it is in keeping with the mission.