Password manager: Bitwarden, KeePassXC, or something else?

Is it a good idea to use a password manager? Why/why not?

For those who use one, which password manager do you use, and why?

1 Like

If you use a good password manager, this is a good idea :slight_smile:
I have been using KeePassX since 2016. Why? Convenient and secure cross-platform open source password manager. Uses a local database compatible with the KeePass database format.

3 Likes

I chose BitWarden, and have zero issues with it.

2 Likes

Three notebooks, each in different places. One in a fire safe. Use pencil so you can erase an entry when the password changes.

Some makers of little address books also make password books. Instead of name and address they use the same lines for site, username, and password. With alphabet tabs and gold trim.

1 Like

I prefer to use an offline VM on Qubes OS to store my passwords.

3 Likes

https://pwsafe.org/yubi.shtml

I use Password Safe which is supported by Bruce Schneier. I started using it, because I looked for something supporting two factor authentication and am now using it together with an yubikey.

2 Likes

As always, there’s no simple answer.

Compared to what?

Compared to remembering every password in your head? That’s the most secure option. However forgetting passwords may be a problem, particularly if not used for a while - and it could encourage sloppy habits like using weaker passwords or reusing passwords.