Phone with No GPS

I’m new to this and one of the key issues I have is tracking with GPS, especially considering the new COVID privacy issues, using bluetooth/GPS to determine distance to other people, GPS to report if you’re staying within certain parameters, leaving home, traveling outside of your state, etc.

I want all of this to be private. Is it possible to do this with the Librem 5? What network do you use? I’m looking for a private map device where I can download them and use offline so I don’t have to use my phone to get around.

Any advice on this topic and what you offer would be helpful.

My advice is to use the hardware kill-switch to turn off the cellular modem, or remove the SIM card, or turn off Location Services…and to not spread the virus around. :slightly_smiling_face:

I don’t think the map applications for the L5 have offline/download yet, but hopefully soon. On Android, there’s OSMand, which can download and store regional maps from OpenStreetMap for use offline.

1 Like

Puremaps works just fine on the L5, although it is not available in the default repository… (I have 2.6.5 packaged and run it in the L5).
I still have trouble getting a GPS fix with the L5, but that is a different issue :grinning:

1 Like

I have Pure Maps flatpak version, and I notice that it retains my last-used map screen (region?) when I go offline, but when I search for another area of the world, it doesn’t pull it up. Maybe I’ll try your version.

But GPS does not transfer your data anywhere, it’s passive. If you only run free and trusted software (which is the case by default for Librem 5), you should not have any problems with GPS. Otherwise, you can use lockdown mode.

3 Likes

I know this is crazy talk but wouldn’t it be cool if someone could take Google maps and put it in a book made out of paper!!!

1 Like

Well, you can print out the map pages you need. :slightly_smiling_face: