Puri.sm’s “forgot password” function confirms invalid username/emails...?!

I find it odd that the website of such a privacy-focused company allows this:

When invalid usernames or emails are entered during Puri.sm’s Reset Password process, the person making the attempt is informed that “no account exists” for that login.

May I suggest instead, “If an account exists under that name, an email has sent to reset the password”?

I know people — coworkers for instance — that have a high likelihood of being a Purism customer or forum member.

Why should a snooper who knows the email address or even favorite username of such a person be allowed to rule out — or confirm — the existence of an account under that identity?

Note: I am a novice privacy enthusiast, and new to this forum. I am already impressed with some of the well-informed, thoughtful, and unexpected responses to my posts. I look forward to an interesting discussion.

Cheers,

Privacy, yay.

4 Likes

There’s a difference between “private” and “anonymous.”

“Private” means “no one knows what you’re doing.”

“Anonymous” means “no one knows who is doing a given thing.”

So for examples, people at the office know who I am but not what I do at home (privacy). People at the grocery store know what I’m doing but not who I am (anonymity).

Purism is a company focused on privacy versus anonymity, so while they may in a round about way confirm that an account exists (which would probably happen if one were to set up an account that already exists anyway, otherwise there’s some ambiguous error message that wouldn’t make a lot of sense to an honest user), they will not allow access to that account because it’s private.

1 Like

Well, I’m not sure that is exactly the point, and I do know the difference, but Privacy and Anonymity are very closely linked. When either one is compromised, the other may be by default, or at least it is easier for it to be. And both are linked to Security, and to Identity. (P.A.S.I. ?)