Questions PureOS on Librem phone

Hello,
I think I want a Librem5.
I have been using Linux (Arch) for many years now, and I’m pretty excited at the prospect of having a full-featured, unhampered true GNU/Linux operating system on my phone.

Is this excitement justified?

To clarify: Regardless of physical usability (small screen, no keyboard/mouse), will I be able to install & run ALL applications that any debian user can use? to what extent will those softwares support the phone’s dimensions?
What will the terminal be like? Any thoughts on improving that experience?
Will I be able to ssh into my server, or NFS, or sshfs? => no more mediaserver required…

etc.

i hope you get my gist.

while i’m at it, i want to ask how sure i can be of dual sim support; i saw something on a reddit AMA, it sounded pretty confident, but no guarantees. are there guarantees now?

thanks.

1 Like

Hi @ondoho,

It depends on whether you’re into:

• Running a phone with a full GNU/Linux distribution endorsed by the FSF
  • On hardware running free software for the most part
  • With the ability to sever power source of the different sensors for privacy.
  • Having a convergent OS (apps displaying for small screen when in phone mode, and full desktop computer when plugged to an external screen and keyboard)

For GTK+ 3 based applications, Purism developped a GTK+ 3 widget to make apps adaptive (responsive to the screen size). You can have a demo in Purism’s Adrien’s blog post about GNOME Web. As for the Qt based apps, Kirigami is the way to go.

At launch few apps will sport an adaptive mode. It’s up to each application maintainer to:

1. Define its mobile UX/UI
  2. Upgrade its interface with such a capable framework

Purism hired GNOME developers to port GNOME apps to their framework so the phone will have a decent set of applications at launch.

Definitely.

From Introducing Calls on the Librem 5:

Where Next?