Reason for incorrect BIOS time in Librem 13v4

Hi everyone,

I have been using a Librem 13v4 with Librem Key for around 3 years. My current operating system is Qubes OS 4.0.

Now when booting, I received the following error message

gpg: key ... was created ... days in the future (time warp or clock problem)
gpg: Can't check signature: Bad public key
Failed default boot

I managed to fix the issue (incorrect BIOS system time of 1.1.1970) by forcing unsafe boot, setting the system time manually ( date -s '2014-12-25 12:34:56') and setting the BIOS time to the system time (hwclock --systohc). However, I would not like this to be the regular fix as it means that tampering cannot be detected.

To properly fix the issue, I was wondering if the problem is that the Bios battery is getting weak. I have used the laptop for around 3 years around 3 hours per week and almost always plugged in. Does anyone have similar experiences? Is there any documentation how to replace the BIOS battery for this laptop?

1 Like

Maybe - but sometimes devices that are intrinsically powered by battery (phones / laptops) do not have a BIOS battery. So your first question might be: does it even have a BIOS battery?

I believe in this case that the answer is β€œyes” - it does have a BIOS battery - and an exhausted BIOS battery is a likely explanation.

In particular … 3 hours per week is very light usage. So it spends almost all of its time powered off. So, depending on how it is engineered, that could mean that the hardware clock spends almost all of its time running off the BIOS battery. (As a corollary to that implied question, have you looked at the health of your main system battery?)

Your second question would be: What battery code is it? (so you know what to buy as a replacement)

All three questions (is there one? what battery code? how to replace?) would appear to be gaps in the documentation so you should ask at support@puri.sm and also request documentation improvements.

1 Like