Regional Categories?

People,

I just got the email re AweSIM but of course that is not available in Australia yet. I am new to Purism and this forum but I find I am constantly having to work out if some comment is relevant to me or not because I am in Australia - quite frequently the comment is NOT. Would it be possible to set up new Forum Categories here that are specific to regions? - I am particularly interested in the Australian region of course . .

Thanks,
Phil.

1 Like

You just ask your question and put Australia in the title. There isn’t much reason to create a new forum category for just Australia.

These links may help you:
https://forums.puri.sm/search?q=australia

1 Like

That is a clumsy way to allow Australians to interact in the one place - other Discourse sites have regional categories . .

If you put Australia in the title, than any Ozzie who follows this forum will read/respond, so you are reaching the people who you want to reach.

The bigger question is whether it makes sense to organize the Purism forum according to regions, and I don’t think that it does. There have been 10 threads out of a total of 3199 threads with “Australia” in the title, so there isn’t that much need for the new category.

For the majority of topics discussed on this forum, they are not regional in focus. Occasionally there are questions about power plugs, taxes, shipping or cellular networks in a particular region, but most questions are worldwide in nature. For most people reading this forum, they want info on a product category (Librem laptops, Librem 5, Librem Mini). For example, if a question gets asked about the Mini in the “Australia” category, people who are interested in the Mini, are less likely to bother reading the topic, because they will assume that it only deals with Australian issues, so you are probably not going to get as good of responses because you get fewer readers.