Saving FireFox in Activies?

Hello,

I’m new to PureOS and am having a hard time saving FireFox to my Activities shortcuts. I downloaded FireFox and want to be able to click Activities and see the icon for the web browser in the Activities menu.

I’ve tried right clicking, left clicking and dragging and dropping and nothing is working.

You do not say how you installed Firefox. If you just downloaded and untarred it–I do it that way–you may need to add a firefox.desktop file to /usr/share/applications. The contents of that file is enumerated here. (You will only need to do this once.)

I also had a problem on Gnome when I received my Librem a few years ago. I hope this is fixed by now, but I figured out that there was no gnome-applications.menu in /etc/xdg/menus or in ~/.config/menus. I did a forced reinstall to get that generated:

sudo apt install gnome-menus --reinstall

Good luck!

In the newest Gnome if you’ve got Firefox on the dock it won’t appear on the activities menu.

Is Gnome like Terminal? I entered this in Terminal and got an error message

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Firefox
Comment=Browse the World Wide Web
GenericName=Web Browser
X-GNOME-FullName=Firefox Web Browser
Exec=/home/firefox.bin %u
Terminal=false
X-MultipleArgs=false
Type=Application
Icon=firefox
Categories=Network;WebBrowser;
MimeType=text/html;text/xml;application/xhtml+xml;application/xml;application/vnd.mozilla.xul+xml;application/rss+xml;application/rdf+xml;image/gif;image/jpeg;image/png;x-scheme-handler/http;x-scheme-handler/https;
StartupWMClass=Firefox
StartupNotify=true

When I installed Firefox I just downloaded it and untarred it. Where do I enter the code? I tried Terminal and got an error message.

“sudo apt install gnome-menus --reinstall” … What?

I’ve been a Mac user my whole life and this is my first time using a Linus OS so bare with me lol