System will not boot from USB

I have a Librem Mini that I bought last year. I created a Linux Mint USB (burned from Etcher) on my Windows machine. My windows machine recognizes the usb as a bootable usb. The Librem mini can read the usb just fine. But when I try to boot from the USB it does not appear in the boot menu. How do I make it appear in the boot menu?

I’m a linux newbie and PureOS is not easy to use, I cannot find any configuration or bios settings.

there aren’t any.

If your USB stick isn’t detected at boot time, try using a different port, or a different USB stick. It’s simply a hardware handshaking/init issue with the firmware. We can troubleshoot it with a debug firmware build, but the easiest solution is to just try another USB stick.

This comment is not intended to apply specifically to the Librem Mini but I have a computer that won’t recognise the USB flash drive if I put it in the USB 3.0 port but the same flash drive can boot fine in a USB 2.0 port (and of course every combination works fine once Linux is actually booted). In that case, there is not much point using a USB 3.0 flash drive as far as booting goes.

So I would suggest: use a USB 2.0 flash drive and put it in a USB 2.0 port.

Solely going from the picture on the Purism web site, the Librem Mini does clearly distinguish which are the USB 3.0 ports.

I tried both USB 2.0 ports with two different USB 2.0 flash drives and it still does not bring them up in the boot menu. Both flash drives are readable by the computer in Files. I believe Purism may do a USB boot bypass, but I cannot even find the BIOS in Systems or Settings to change it. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I’ve tried two USB drives in both ports and still nothing in the boot menu.

As was stated above, there are no BIOS settings.

Perhaps try to boot the standard PureOS live boot USB. That test gives you fault isolation.

as the person responsible for the firmware you’re running, I assure you there is no such thing.